Fine Rates

Appeals

Pay a Citation

Pay or Appeal Your Citation Here

Fines are payable online or at the Transportation Services office in Adams Hall Monday to Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m, or by mail to: Transportation Services, Oregon State University, 100 Adams Hall, Corvallis, OR 97331

Fines may be reduced if paid within 10 days.

Immobilization devices (boots) will be released from the vehicle within 72 hours (excluding holidays) of receipt of payment.

Parking at Oregon State University is governed by the Oregon State University Standards. The authority to regulate parking on campus is granted by Oregon Revised Statute 352.087(1).

Citation Fine Schedule - Effective April 1, 2018

(For the fine schedule prior to April 1, 2018, click here)


Citations are issued under the authority of Oregon Revised Statute 352.087(1), and OSU Standards 580-040-025 and 07-025

Fines
Paid Within 10 days Paid after 10 days
5.6.1(a) Failure to Display a Valid Permit $30 $40
5.6.1(b) Counterfeit/Altered/Defacing/Misuse/Lost/Stolen Permit $300 $300
5.6.1(c) Parked in a No Parking Area $30 $40
5.6.1(d) Parked in Wrong Zone or Area for Permit Type $30 $40
5.6.1(e) Unauthorized Parking in ADA space $400 $400
5.6.1(f) Blocking ADA Access $90 $100
5.6.1(g) Parked in Area NOT Designated as Parking Area (lawn, sidewalk, other) $40 $50
5.6.1(h) Parked Over Time Limit (Meters, Posted Time Limits, Load Zones) $30 $40
5.6.1(i) Parked in Posted Fire Lane $50 $60
5.6.1(j) Circumventing University Standards or Signage $75 $85
5.6.1(k) Parked in More than One Space $30 $40
5.6.1(l) Parked in a Restricted Area $40 $50
5.6.1(m) Full Size Vehicle in Compact Space $30 $40
5.6.6 Scofflaw Warning - Warning Issued with Second Citation - -
5.6.6(b) Suspend Notice - Vehicle banned from Campus Until Outstanding Fines Paid - -
5.6.6(c) Immobilization (boot) for Three or More Outstanding Citations $200 $200

 

Appeals

Citations may be appealed online, or with an appeal form submitted to Transportation Services in Adams Hall, within 10 days of citation issuance. Payment of the citation fine must accompany an appeal letter.

You may appeal a citation for situations other than those listed below. It is the appellant's responsibility to provide any evidence to support their appeal.

The following reasons are NOT grounds to appeal a citation:

  • Lack of knowledge of regulations, for example, new to campus or have not read regulations
  • Other vehicles were also parked improperly
  • Late to class or appointment
  • Disagreement with or inability to pay the amount of the fine(s)
  • Lack of space
  • Unread or misunderstood signs
  • Parking only for short period of time
  • Failure to display parking permit
  • Parked in handicap area without valid DMV placard
  • Lost citation
  • Forgetfulness

If the appeal and payment of the fine are not received within 10 days, appeals will not be reviewed, and the fine must be paid.

The decision of the appeal review is final and not subject to further appeal.

The primary method of making an appeal is in writing. An appellant may also request to make an oral presentation at the appeal hearing in support of the written appeal when the appeal cannot adequately be explained in writing. Oral presentations are limited to five minutes.

Appeal Review Schedule

Appeals are reviewed once a month, typically in Cascade Hall or Adams Hall.

Letters communicating the results are sent a week after the appeal review.