Employee Compensation Plans:

Employee Compensation Plans


Classified and Temporary Pay Policy:

A position represented by the Service Employees International Union (SEIU), Local 503, Oregon Public Employees Union (OPEU), or the Graphic Communication International Union (GCIU).


Unclassified Pay Policy:

Unclassified positions include professorial, research, and instructor positions as well as unclassified administrative appointments.


Undergrad Student Pay Policy:

Oregon State University provides employment opportunities to students to assist them in the enhancement of their educational development and experience, to provide income opportunities as a part of a student’s total financial assistance program, and to create co-curricular experiences by which the student gains valuable work skills.


Graduate Student Employee Partnership Policy:

Administrative units may continue to use graduate assistants, but they must do so by coupling their stipend funds with a tuition remission by partnering with an academic unit/program.

For graduate appointments supported by Statewide Public Service and other funds (non-001100 E&G, Designated Operations, Service Units, Auxiliaries, and Restricted/Grant Funds) the cost is paid directly on those funds.  There is no journal voucher necessary, nor is there a reimbursement for tuition remission.


FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act):

The Fair Labor Standards Act establishes minimum wage, overtime pay, recordkeeping, and youth employment standards affecting employees in the private sector and in federal, state, and local governments.


FMLA (Family Medical Leave Act):

The Family Medical Leave Act entitles eligible employees of covered employers to take unpaid, job-protected leave for specified family and medical reasons with continuation of group health insurance coverage under the same terms and conditions as if the employee had not taken leave.


SEIU (Service Employees International Union):

SEIU is a labor union focused on organizing workers in health care, property services, and state/local government employees.