Council Membership

2019-2020 Membership List

The Council is convened by the Associate Vice President of the Office of Budget & Resource Planning, at the direction of the Provost and Vice President for Finance and Administration.  The Council is advisory to the University Budget Committee.

The Council will identify a student chair or co-chairs from the membership to co-chair the Council with the Associate Vice President of Budget & Resource Planning.  Membership is ideally for two years, with a rotation that replaces half of the membership each academic year.  Flexibility will be required in terms given the many demands on student time and schedules.

Members will be identified to the campus community and asked to serve as a point of contact for students or groups with questions or concerns.

Members for the coming academic year will be identified, to the extent possible, in the spring term of the current year.

2019-2020 Student Budget Advisory Council Membership

UBC Representative & SBAC Chair: Sherm Bloomer, AVP - Office of Budget & Resource Planning

Member serving as Co-Chair with Sherm Bloomer: Michaela Canete


Association Representative
International Business Management Andrew Friesen
Business Matthew Hochhaus
Engineering Ben Johnson
Electrical & Computer Engineering Yiu Tran
Crops and Soils Laura Love Rathburn
Language, Culture, and Society Lauren Row
Economics Mahal Miles
Public Health & Human Sciences Kennedy Hedges (returning member for 2019-20)
Computer Science Chitali Buge
PhD Statistics Peter Boyd
Mechanical Engineering Raghav Bhatt
Graduate Student - Student Services Admin Jensen Woods
Member at Large Lana Klipfel (returning member for 2019-20)
Finance and BIS Basim Elmashni
Psychology Jennifer Martin
Economics and Sustainability (dual-degree) Sean Fagan
Mathematics Dolby Toews
Business Lillian Beck
BioHealth Sciences Landry Bucao
Member at Large Sam Burns
Member at Large Michaela Canete
Member at Large Rachel Polaski