Student Employment Policy & Procedure Guide
Section 500: Employment Eligibility Requirements
In alignment with State of Oregon Law, the minimum age of requirement for student employment at Oregon State University is 14 years of age, with the exception of farm labor. However, students under the age of 18 years are restricted in work hours and duties.
Hiring Restrictions for Students Under the Age of 18
Employment of Minors (Ages 14-17) Under the Following Conditions
14- and 15-Years of Age: When school is in session, 14- and 15-year-olds can work three hours per day and eight hours per day on non-school days. Working during school hours is prohibited. A maximum of 18 hours per week is allowed from 7 am to 7 pm.
When school is not in session, 14- and 15-year-olds can work eight hours per day from 7 am to 9 pm.
A maximum of 40 hours per week is allowed only from June 1 through Labor Day.
16- and 17-Years of Age: When school is in session, 16- and 17-year-olds can work can work any hours with a maximum of 40 hours per week. Working during school hours is prohibited.
AUTHORIZED OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY DUTIES
Ages 14-17: Pick/prune fruit; prep seeds; rogue weeds, collect/clean grain samples; farm work; feed cattle; lab aide; camp counselor; library clerk; lifeguard/instructor; general office; errands; cashier; issue athletic equipment/supplies;dishwasher; window washing; grounds keeping; and janitorial. Operating tractor/farm machinery without safety training and close supervision is prohibited.
Ages 16-17: In addition to duties allowed for individuals aged 14-17, operate farm/landscape machinery; use of steam cleaners, ovens (pizza, bakery, and convection), pressure washers, and air compressors.
OPERATION OF MOTOR VEHICLES BY MINOR EMPLOYEES IN NON-AGRICULTURAL EMPLOYMENT
No employee under 18 years of age employed in non-agricultural employment may be employed to drive on public roadways as part of his or her job.
BREAKS AND MEALS
Allow for 15-minute breaks during each four-hour block of work time. Meal periods of at least 30 minutes must be provided no later than five hours and one minute after the minor reports to work. Minors 14- and 15-years of age must be fully relieved of work duties during this time. Minors who are 16- and 17-years of age may work during a meal period, but must be paid for their time. This is permitted ONLY if the nature of the work prevents the minor from being relieved from all duty.
If you are considering employing a student under the age of 18 years of age, please contact the Student Employment Center at email@example.com