The OSU Sustainability Advisory Council was formed in fall 2011 by the Provost, the Vice President for Finance and Administration and the Sustainability Officer.  In 2018, the Council focus expanded to promote connection of sustainability practitioners across campus and provide a support network for those doing sustainability work. The formation and activity of the Faculty Senate Carbon Commitment Committee since 2020 has largely replaced the Advisory Council and the Council is no longer actively meeting. 

Past Work

The Council supported those working within the sustainability community and also served in an advisory capacity for OSU leadership.  The Council was intended to move quickly and flexibly on important and emerging sustainability issues in alignment with OSU Strategic Goals:

  • Success that transforms our learners and our world.
  • Leadership that integrates scholarship, creativity and collaboration throughout learning and discovery.
  • Expansion of the university’s diversity, reach and service across Oregon, throughout the nation and around the world.

Council Objectives

  • Provide feedback to OSU leadership regarding institutional goals, priorities, policies, programs and strategies (including the Strategic Plan) that advance or hinder sustainability progress
  • Coordinate campus wide and partner organization sustainability programs in alignment with the OSU Strategic Plan OSU sustainability commitments and goals (e.g. carbon neutrality)
  • Provide advice and problem solving to fellow Council members
  • Support the work of sustainability professionals in units across the university
  • Unlock opportunities for students, staff, and faculty from across campus, and beyond, to connect with each other and work on pressing sustainability issues

Past Council Membership

  • Eric Beeler, Community Engagement and Leadership
  • Emily Bowling, Community Engagement and Leadership
  • Sarah Bronstein, Transportation Services
  • Leticia Cavazos, Sustainability Office
  • Erica Elliott, Sustainability Double Degree
  • Andrea Norris, Campus Recycling
  • Zac Pinard, Associated Students of Oregon State University
  • Allen Thompson, Philosophy
  • Brandon Trelstad, Sustainability Office